NADFAS supports hundreds of Decorative and Fine Arts Societies across Britain and around the world. Societies bring together like-minded people to enjoy the arts and to work on heritage preservation projects. Each local Society plans its own programme, but a typical programme includes:


• a monthly arts lecture 
• study days and days of special interest
• visits and tours


In addition, local volunteers work on a variety of projects in churches, museums, historic houses, galleries and archives. Find out more about Church Recording or Heritage Volunteering.


Societies support arts education through Young Arts events and through funding for Young Arts projects. These vary but can include paying for art materials or funding an artist in residence in a local school. Find out more about our work with young people.


All NADFAS Societies support the NADFAS charitable aims and subscribe to the Statement of Mutual Obligations, but are autonomous and run according to their own constitution and rules. Find out about your local NADFAS Society.


The Marsh Awards for Volunteering 2017

The Marsh Christian Trust was founded in 1981 as a grant-making body by Brian Marsh OBE.  Over the past 30 years, the Trust has developed an Award Scheme to provide recognition to and reward those who modestly work to improve peoples' lives and the world in which we live. Recipients of Marsh Awards are always people who make a difference by selflessly contributing their time and energy.  The Marsh Award for Volunteering with NADFAS is just one of 65 awards the Trust runs in partnership with other charitable organisations across the fields of heritage, the arts, conservation and social welfare.  This national award will give recognition to members of NADFAS who are actively engaged in Heritage Volunteering, Church Trails, Young Arts or Church Recording.  

In 2017 the Marsh Christian Trust has generously agreed to sponsor a further award for NADFAS volunteers.  This time it is for the most critical volunteers of all - those who serve on Society committees.  They are the hub from which all other activities are developed, so we are delighted for the opportunity to recognise and honour them too.  The new Award will be for a committee that has made a significant difference to their Society within the past year.  It could be for running a successful recruitment campaign, establishing a successful community or publicity project or supporting another local Society.  There are many ways in which a committee/ team could make a difference.  The 2017 Marsh Award will be presented at the AGM in May. Nominations must be received by 30th January 2017.


Who can be nominated?

Any group of volunteers or an individual volunteer who are offering invaluable help with heritage conservation, church trails and church recording projects, or who encourage and enhance young people's appreciation and understanding of art and our heritage, or any committee which which has made an exceptional contribution to the running of its Society this year.  Entries should focus specifically on the achievements of the volunteer/s and the difference they are making to the wider community.   

Who can make a nomination? 

Any member of NADFAS can make a nomination following the guidance below.


To nominate your selected group or individual, 

Please email in order to be set up with a login and to be given details on where to access the online form.  


​If you are not able to complete an online application, you can download an application form in either Word or PDF. You will find these in the downloads section below. Email the completed form to or post to Volunteering Manager, NADFAS House, 8 Guilford St, London WC1N 1DA. Nominations must be received by 30th January 2017. The award will be divided into three categories.                                                   

  • Group Award - £500
  • Individual Award - £500
  • Society Committee Award - £500


The Judging

All entries will be judged by a panel consisting of representatives from the Marsh Christian Trust and NADFAS but the final decision lies with the Award Trustees, ensuring independence and giving real value to the winners in terms of the recognition earned.